No audio on remote extension

I’m not a network expert, just know enough to be dangerous!
Running FreePBX server in my office with two Panasonic KX-UT123. Works great.
Have an IPSec tunnel setup from office to remote site, two identical Ubiquity Edgerouters. Tunnel works fine. Can ping/login/manage devices at either site from the other end. Office is static IP, remote site is not.
Set up third KX-UT123 at remote site & it registers with FreePBX at office. Remote extension rings on incoming calls, successfully makes outgoing calls but no audio in or out in either case. Call setup/breakdown works on both extension-to-extension calls and calls to/from the PSTN.
Both routers are set to ‘automatically open firewall and exclude from NAT’. Both office and remote LAN IPs are listed as local networks under FreePBX SIP Settings.
One odd thing, I compared IPSec configs between the two routers and both are set to “connection-type initiate” Shouldn’t the remote (dynamic ip) side always initiate the connection to the office (static ip) site?
I understand that the problem is likely RTP related but as I said, I just know enough to be dangerous. Help, I don’t know where to go from here.

Is the subnet range for the VPN IP included as a local network in Asterisk SIP Settings?

2 Likes

Thank you for responding to my question.
Yes, both the local and remote networks (192.168.0.0/24 and 192.168.22.0/24) are listed under the General SIP Settings tab under Asterisk SIP Settings.
I noticed a text box for local network under the SIP Settings [chan_phsip] tab. That is blank. Does this also need to list the remote network address?

That was it!.. I had both local and remote LAN addresses listed under the general SIP tab for Asterisk SIP Settings, but it did not start working until I added the remote address under the chan_pjsip tab. I did a restart and Voila! it worked. Thank You!

I’m glad that you got it working. However,