Newbie: SIP Trunking to Tandberg VCS Control

Hey Everybody,

I am going to start off by saying, I am a complete noob when in comes to this technology. A few months ago I got put in charge of a new project. Part of the project is integration of a phone system with a video conferencing system. I have the video conferencing system up and running and just started on the phone system. To save money, we have decided to go with an asterisk server and a SIP Trunk for our phone system. I used AsteriskNow 1.7.0 32bit.

Details:

FreePBX 2.7.0.5
CentOS 5
Asterisk 1.6

I will set up a zone in my VCS Control that will route calls to the FreePBX server, but the part I am having trouble with is a SIP trunk on the FreePBX server…

To register to my VCS Control, not much is needed. It is open registration, so no password is needed, just a username. It is located on the same internal network. I have tried playing around with a bunch of different settings in the SIP Trunk, but haven’t been able to register with any of it.

This is a copy of settings I used to register with a different device:

SIP Registrar Domain: 192.168.1.36
SIP Registrar Type: Standard SIP
Username: Codian
Password: is left blank
SIP Proxy Address: 192.168.1.36
Outgoing Transport: UDP

That is all I need to specify to register with another device… so I hope that helps.

I haven’t found any internal SIP Trunks that don’t require a password. Maybe I am approaching it wrong? I am able to register devices independently to my FreePBX Server as extensions. What are the channel (simultaneaous call) restrictions on a single extension?

Tips, help, and constructive criticism wholeheartedly welcomed.

Thanks,

Robert

Hey ahaikio,

Good thing I was subscribed to this thread! I haven’t logged in here for a while.

VCS Setup:

1. Create a Neighbor Zone for Asterisk on Port 5060 via UDP.

2. Create a Search Rule(Here is the rule I setup):

RULE NAME: PBX SEARCH
    DESCRIPTION: TRANSFER CALLS TO PBX