Newbie config question for TDM800P

I was able to get FreePBX installed and it is able to see the TDM800P card:

[root@voip ~]# service dahdi status

Span 1: WCTDM/0 “Wildcard TDM800P” (MASTER)

1 FXO FXSKS (EC: OSLEC - INACTIVE)
2 FXO FXSKS (EC: OSLEC - INACTIVE) RED
3 FXO FXSKS (EC: OSLEC - INACTIVE) RED
4 FXO FXSKS (EC: OSLEC - INACTIVE) RED
5 unknown Reserved
6 unknown Reserved
7 unknown Reserved
8 unknown Reserved

I am brand new with this so my first goal is modest: I want to be able to call the POTS line jacked into port 1 and have PBX answer it and then terminate it with a SIT tone. I will worry about adding VoIP phones et al later.

The first step I took was adding a DAHDI channel: (I would post pictures but that is disallowed for new users.)

Channel: 1
Description: TDM800P - Channel 1
DID: 8001

I then clicked the “Submit Changes” button followed by clicking the “Apply Config” button at the top. Next, I added an “Incoming Route” by populating:

Description: TDM800P - Channel 1
DID Number: 8001

Leaving all other options at default, I scrolled all the way down to the bottom and choose “Terminate Call” + “Play SIT Tone”. This was saved with the “Submit Changes” / “Apply Config” combo.

When I call the POTS line it just rings, rings and rings. Clearly, there is more work to be done.

:smiley:

I used these two wiki articles:

wiki.freepbx.org/display/F2/DAHDI+(Analog)+Channel+DIDs
wiki.freepbx.org/display/F2/Inbound+Routed+User+Guide

and I have been watching the Schmooze videos:

schmoozecom.com/video/

without much success . Any thoughts as what I am missing would be very much appreciated.

Thanks!

From the cli:

dahdi_genconf to set up the necessary files (/etc/dahdi/system.conf and /etc/asterisk/dahdi-channels.conf) and then from the asterisk CLI (asterisk -vvvr) “dahdi restart” and you should have working channels.

You can also do it from the FreePBX Dahdi modules, but I am so used to the CLI and it is faster.

Greg