New Installation as a novice Looking for some advice

Looking for an on premise PBX solution for a multi location company.

We are running an old NEC IPKII system. I would like to upgrade the phone system, I’m considering FREEPBX or Asterisk, and I’m wondering if I’m looking in the proper direction.

1stly I have ZERO knowledge in setting up a phone system and was hoping to hire someone to accomplish this.

We have 2 locations one in Canada one in the USA

In Canada we have 6 lines from Bell (analogue) and also 3 DID’s from VOIP MS (SIP) one is our fax, we 22 Extensions with voicemail, we have a loudspeaker in the factory we page using an amplifier (Bogen amplifier.

our current up speed is 10Mbps and 50 Mbps Down (in Canada)

In the USA we have fiber so speed is not an issue

I would require the ability to forward extensions and the ability to use soft phones, ie forward extensions to people when they work from home along with the ability to email their voicemails messages

In the USA we are on a PRI we have 11 extensions and about 10 lines some with direct dial extensions. The USA has the ability to page the Canadian loudspeakers, desk phones and extensions. In Canada they have the ability to do the same, page their phones and loudspeaker in the factory.

The ability to have direct dial extensions in Canada this would be a good option to add.

Each office has RJ45 ports but only ONE for the computer
I assume we would need to buy POE switches for each office but I also have a 48 Port POW injector in the server room.

I’m open to many options.

I have no experience with voice communications and would like to hire someone for this project, but would need a physical person on site to bring in the lines into the device.

I am interested in open source options because I like the scalability,

Some have directed me to grandstream,

any thoughts?

Thank you