New deployment, security concerns, phone questions

Sorry if I posted in the wrong section, but I’m really a newbie here transitioning from the traditional TDM hard wired PBX environment. I have an Asterisk server installed (about to install FreePBX) along with SIP trunks from my carrier. My provider will only provide me Trunks over my MPLS which means the Asterisk server has to be on my internal network. The goal is to have internal users and external users registered to the server, and at the same time overcome any NAT issues that comes along with Audio problems. Would it be best to have two NICS, one on my internal and one on my external network? Security is definately a concern in doing that! so any advise is welcomed.

Also, I will have several models of phones to register (Polycom, GrandstreamGXV3175, CiscoSPA504G). Is there options for these phone types in the GUI or will I have challenges adding these via CLI.

Do not expose the phone system to the Internet under any circumstances. No commercial vendor supports this configuration (Cisco charges 30k for a SIP gateway license) and you should not do it with an open source system either.

The correct way to connect remote users is with a VPN. An SSL VPN for roaming users and a point to point for remote locations.

What about the case of having a user from home plug in a phone on their home network that needs to register to the system?

I must add that the exposure to the internet I’m considering DMZ so I can only allow certain ports, my internal is on a different zone that I build policies between the DMZ and that internal zone allowing only certain traffic. I imagine that would minimize some risks? any thoughts?

For home users you can use the Cisco SPA525G that includes a built in IPSEC VPN client.

The other option (and then one I choose) is to put a VPN router at the users hours. VPN routers are now less than $100 so they are only a few dollars more than a regular home router.