My Security questions

Hi,

I’m new to FreePBX (so please bear with me) and we just bought a System 100 appliance. I have been reading some post regarding fail2ban and IPtables(but I’m still having a hard time to fully understand). I have 4 questions.

1. I haven’t applied any IPtables or fail2ban at the moment but when I enter iptables -L -n below is the output.

• Can I just simply flush (iptables -F) and put my iptables rules?
    • Is it needed to edit the fail2ban file or I can use the default rule ? If I can use the default rule, will that be enough?

OUTPUT:

target prot opt source destination
fail2ban-FTP tcp – 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0
fail2ban-apache-auth tcp – 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0
fail2ban-SIP all – 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0
fail2ban-PBX-GUI all – 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0
fail2ban-BadBots tcp – 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0
fail2ban-SSH tcp – 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0
fail2ban-recidive all – 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)

Chain fail2ban-BadBots (1 references)
RETURN all – 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0

Chain fail2ban-FTP (1 references)

Chain fail2ban-PBX-GUI (1 references)
DROP all – 183.90.36.84 0.0.0.0/0

Chain fail2ban-SIP (1 references)

Chain fail2ban-SSH (1 references)

Chain fail2ban-apache-auth (1 references)

Chain fail2ban-recidive (1 references)

1. If changing the default port numbers such as HTTP,HTTPS,SIP , do I need to include this on the default fail2ban statement?

Example:
action = iptables-allports[name=BadBots, port=“http,https,<mycustomport>”]

1. How I can remove a banned IP from the list ? I have tried DROP and it was successfully remove however when I reboot the system it goes back.

2. In our Intrusion detection page it shows 3 banned IP already but upon checking the iptables -L , it shows only 1 banned IP and others are not there.

Thank you for taking a time to read my post and hopefully I can get advise or help from you guys.

celson