Music On Hold

Hello, I am new to FreePBX and I am using it via a Raspberry Pi (it is an amazing setup and my big thanks goes to Ward Mundy for his hard work on getting FreePBX support on this hardware).

I am struggling a bit with Music On Hold. I am trying to upload a custom recording to use for all my hold music on both internal and external calls. So far I have not set up a trunk so I cannot tell what is happening on external calls, but for internal calls I can only get the pre-installed music to play no matter what I set.

I have tried deleting all the other songs in MOH leaving only my uploaded ones, that does not work. I have tried uploading as MP3 and using the converter plug-in which uploads and appears fine but when I test it goes back to playing the standard music that came with the distro. I have ensured it is encoded properly and tried as a ulaw and as a wave file at 8khz but that does not seem to make a difference.

All my searches on here have been fruitless so far, so this is my question - how can I get the same hold music from my custom music on both internal and external calls?

Thanks all for your help.

Please post some logs of a call being placed on hold so we can see what
Asterisk is doing.

I find it odd that you deleted the files and they are still playing. Did you delete the MOH files from the Linux command line?

Hi Alan, no I didn’t but you have inspired me to give that a shot. I have SFTP’d into the box and deleted all the MOH files - nothing played. So it seems the web interface does not necessarily correspond with what is actually going on.

After I did that it’s a bit brutal, but I took my MOH track and renamed it ‘macroform-cold_day.alaw’ and sent that to the box - that worked. Not ideal, but it does work for internal calls (I have not set up a trunk yet) and it’s working well. Thanks for your input, you inspired me to give this a try.

Gosh, you are making this 1000 times harder than it has to be.