Multiple semicolons in my chan_dahdi_additional.conf?

I don’t know if anyone else has ever had this problem but, I thought I would post it here to maybe help others.

I’ve been using Asterisk based systems for about 6 years for my small business. I started with an [email protected] system and moved to Trixbox CE after the development switched over to them. At first I couldn’t get the thing to answer the phone and with the help of a friend, discovered an odd problem. When I would make any changes to the system it would progressively add semicolons to the file that had my extension configuration (I think the file was zaptel.conf or something… sorry, It was a long time ago). After removing the semicolons, the system would work fine. I finally made that file read only and forgot about it.

Recently I had to rebuild the system due to a crash so, to make a long story short, I was having the same issue. IVR WONT answer the phone!!! After banging my head for a while I remembered the issue I had years back but, I couldn’t remember or find the file… Thanks to a friend reminding me about GREP (grep “;;;;” .), I was able to search the system and low and behold, I found the NEW file name and the same issue… After removing all the semicolons, the system started to work…

The new file is now called “chan_dahdi_additional.conf “

My config looked like this before I altered it
;--------------------------------------------------------------------------------;
; Do NOT edit this file as it is auto-generated by FreePBX. All modifications to ;
; this file must be done via the web gui. There are alternative files to make ;
; custom modifications, details at: http://freepbx.org/configuration_files ;
;--------------------------------------------------------------------------------;
;

;;;;;;[41]
signalling=fxo_ks
pickupgroup=
[email protected]
immediate=no
echotraining=800
echocancelwhenbridged=no
echocancel=yes
context=from-internal
callprogress=no
callgroup=
callerid=device <41>