MOH Multi-Language support? Custom Application?

I have been asked to setup our phone systems to support “Music On Hold” that plays promotional messages. This part is easy.

However, marketing just informed me that we need to support both Spanish and English and would like a caller to be able to choose (press 1, 2 etc) for their preferred language.

I have read through several posts. At first pass it looks like this is not possible for MOH. However, I did notice that the MOH configuration screen allows for “Custom Application” as a “type”. To my knowledge, I have no experience with FreePBX “Custom Applications”. It looks like this option is really just to use a streaming audio source as the MOH.

Does anybody know how/if there is a way to accomplish this scenario?

SCENARIO: Caller is put on hold, they are listening. In our English promotional messages it occasionally says. To hear these in “Spanish Press 1” etc. From that point forward it plays the messages in Spanish until the call is picked up.

Thinking out loud (in text)… It would be great if the Custom Application/MOH could leverage the multi-language support of FreePBX. That way, if at any point in our prompts the caller changes languages, even the MOH would see it.

Posts I found on the topic that indicate it may not be possible:

Assuming you have a Sales/Customer Service setup, I’d setup a separate Queue for each language, set the MOH accordingly, when a agent answers and places the caller on hold they’ll still hear “their language MOH”

Thank you for this suggestion. It is a great idea!

Unfortunately all calls are fielded directly by our front desk staff at each office. There are no queues, just Flow Controls and Ring Groups.

The only time a caller would end up in a queue is if they call one of our service centers or it is after hours.

Our business is one that has many callers waiting to talk with specific individuals in the organization.