Line appearances similar to analogue?

Hi! I’m a bit of a noob so I apologize in advance.

I’ve set up a handful of FreePBX phone systems via SIP trunking with various features but there’s one thing I haven’t figured out yet.

On traditional analogue phones, they have various line appearances. Say, lines 1-8 which are all actual individual phone lines. An employee can answer line 1, put them on hold, answer line 4, finish that call and then pick up line 1 again.

I haven’t figured out how to do this with FreePBX and Sangoma phones. You don’t seem to need multiple DIDs to accept multiple calls. How do I configure the system so employees can do this? If you put someone on hold, there doesn’t seem to be a way to answer a second call, end the call and pick up the person on hold so far as I know. That is, unless I’m missing something. The line appearances are replaced with extensions for other employees or departments. What do?

Another side question: When a cell phone is part of a call group, the caller ID only shows the business name. Is there any way to pass through the name and number of the person that’s actually calling? If someone misses the call outside of business hours, they have no way to call them back because they don’t know who it was.

Thanks in advance!