Issue with Inbound routing

Hi everyone, Im new to VOIP. Right now I’m using freepbx 2.6.0.RC2.1 with asterisk 1.4.26.2 . I’m having difficulties understanding inbound route. Example, Ive set my extension 6000 to have a destination which is extension 6000. However, when I set it to have destination to my IVR, nothing changes and it will still revert back to my extension being unavailable etc. I hope someone can enlighten me on my mistake here, much appreciated and thanks.

Did you ever get an answer? Your question is not clear. You say you set extension 6000 to have a destination of 6000. I don’t think that is what you mean. You start with a trunk and that trunk has a destination which may be an extension or IVR among several other options. That destination is set in inbound routes. If you are still looking, be a little more specific with your question.

Thanks for your reply,

Thanks for your slight explanation, can I safely say that inbound routes are the path destination for calls that are received from outside the trunk? I think my question is on internal calls as my trunk is not configured to talk to another machine yet.