Internet provider changed - problems with remote extensions

Hey all,

I’m completely new to voip, but I’m currently the only tech guy at my company, so when anything goes wrong it falls to me.

We have a voip server running FreePBX 14.0.3.2 here in the office, and 10+ phones here on the local network. Mostly Polycom SoundPoint 331s. We also have three employees that work from home, and they each have a Polycom SoundPoint 331 which connect to our server and take part in the whole thing.

Our office changed internet provider a couple days ago, and immediately those remote phones lost connection. I got them back online by having them change the ip addresses of the SIP server and the outbound proxy to point to our new ip address. That makes sense.

However, after the initial jubilation, it became apparent that all calls over these phones are dropping out after about 30 seconds, and now one of them says she isn’t receiving any calls at all. I’ve been reading around, and perhaps the call dropping is due to failing to receive call acknowledgement? But why would the one phone not be receiving calls at all any more?

I’m at my wits end here, especially because I didn’t set this system up and I have a lot on my plate at the moment anyway. So any direction or advice would be welcome!

Many thanks.

edit: I’d love to look at the asterisk log and learn something about this. If I could filter for something in particular, that would be brilliant, but I don’t know what I’m looking for. Any ideas?

Did you make sure or check that the routers/firewalls where the remote phones are have the proper information due to the ISP change?

People tend to forget that if the PBX is in one location behind NAT and the phones are at another location behind NAT that they have to make the needed NAT rules/updates on both sides.