Intercom functionality for internal calls

Hi,

I’m trying to replicate a behavior from our (previous) 3Com NBX system, where any phone would auto-answer if the call originated internally, and if auto-answer was enabled on the phone. The phones even had an auto-answer button on the front panel. We really (really) loved this workflow – that is basically how we’ve called each other for years, and suddenly having to pick up the phone to answer each other is a bummer, when before we could just say “Melinda you there?”, and she would “Yeah, I’m out in the hall, hang on” and then walks over to her phone.

So I’m trying to basically get every extension to add the SIP header “answer-after:0”, so that when they dial, any receiving phone that is an internal phone will auto-answer, provided that auto-answer is otherwise enabled on the phone itself.

I’m new to Asterisk but not to programming, and the thing I’m not getting is that with FreePBX, you’re supposed to put this in the _custom.conf file. But how the devil do you figure out which Priority/Sequence/Line-number to give this? The obvious place to put this would be in [from-internal], but there’s already a ton of includes and ‘exten’ code. If I just barge in and do an exten => s,5,SIPAddHeader(“etc.etc.”), won’t I overwrite whatever is already on code line 5? Or does every context have new line-numbering starting from 1? Aren’t they then fighting over which context gets the call? What I really want is to squeeze this SIPAddHeader command in between code line 1 and code line 2 in whatever is already happening – essentialli placing it on line 1 1/2.