How many phones freepbx/asterisk can manage with a single istance?

How many phones freepbx/asterisk can manage with a single istance?

I’m pretty new to asterisk but with freepbx the configurations seems to be very simple.

Now I have only 70 SIP phones here in headquarter, but I’d like (it’s more a dream…) to migrate to voip all traditional phones in branch offices and centrally administer everything.

Is it possible to do the job with only one freepbx at the headquarter? with the reinvite parameters set to yes, I hope that a site to site call doesn’t waste the bandwidth to headquarter

Asterisk and FreePBX can handle 100’s of phones. Asterisk is a B2BUA so if you use reinvite you take Asterisk out of the audio stream and lose many of the features.

This comes down to diminsoning and there is no simple answer. You can put several hundred channels on a single instance of Asterisk with proper hardware but if you have a Raspberry pi expect 3 or 4.

James I like dim som too but in this case I think we are talking about dimensioning.

It’s an art rather than a science. Concurrent calls is much more important than registrations. CODEC complexity, recording and audio mixing (conferencing, DISA, barge/whisper) all take CPU cycles.

The good news is that fundamentally Asterisk was designed to run on a P3 so a good dual core Atom box is remarkably capable. A current generation (is there a Haswell core Xeon yet) server with 15k SAS drives and 8 cores can handles hundreds if not a thousand concurrent medium complexity CODEC calls.

I agree with Scott, I would add to that, with larger loads, you might well need to tune your ulimits also, Asterisk is quite prolific in using file handles and the kernel defaults might well run out after a few hundred concurrent calls especially with transcoding, conferencing, DISA, barge/whisper etc. (unicast paging will often kill you, even on small systems :wink: )

Thank you all for answers. the first attempt was not so exciting :slight_smile: