How I send PSTN (extension) call to FreePBX SIP extension automatically?

How can I make a call that is being forwarded from the legacy pbx hit the correct extension on FreePBX so that it goes to that person’s voicemail? For example: suppose there is an extension on the legacy pbx 2111. When someone calls the legacy 2111, if no answer, the call is (rolled over) transferred to FreePBX. Now on FreePBX, there is a SIP extension with the same number 2111. How can the transferred call (2111) automatically go to the the SIP extension 2111, so that a voicemail can be left?

Thanks in advance?

You would set up the legacy PBX to forward to a specific inbound route in the FreePBX. That inbound route would activate the desired FreePBX extension.

Really no different than setting up an inbound trunk.

Bill/W5WAF

Thanks so very much for your answer. I’m a complete newbie in this so, please excuse my greenness.

While I understand the inbound route, does it not mean the inbound route has to be from each of the zap trunks, which is where each POTS/PSTN number (line) is connected via the fxo port? If yes, then does it not restrict the number of extensions I can have, since on each zap truck you have to specify a channel (number)?

Here is my situation:

Let us say, I have a legacy pbx where there are 100 extensions. Presently, there is a very old unix based proprietary voicemail system that is interfaced with the legacy pbx. When an extension in this pbx is unavailable or busy, the call is transferred to the voicemail system where is connects to the corresponding extension/mailbox. The voicemail system, I believe have some fxo cards, and about 20 lines coming into it. Yet there over at least 100 mailboxes (extensions) on it.