How can I setup the Hitachi IP5000 for use with my new new FreePBX

I set FreePBX on a server I have running at home. It all went pretty much without a hitch (using two inbound lines…one for calls one for fax … both using Google Voice.)

Someone at work gave me a Hitachi IP5000 phone that was going to be trashed. It mostly works…a little quirky though.

I am able to connect to the phones built in web server but I am completely clueless on how to get the phone to work with FreePBX. I am little surprised on how little information I have found on this topic (setting up SIP phones) on the website. I think maybe I just haven’t found the page yet.

I am technical (a software developer) but I have to admit that wien it comes to VOIP PBX I am a complete newbie.

I setup an extension that I would like the IP5000 to use, assigned it a secret, but that is all I have been able to do. I cannot get the phone to work on the system.

The phone has a register option. When I try to use it if Fails. The phone IS setup on my wireless network…the same network that the pbx is on.

So if someone could give me step by step instructions on setting up the SIP phone on FreePBX (or clarifying documentation) that would be greatly appreciated.

Regard,
Seth

You will not find generic phone documentation because there is simply nothing different than any other SIP device.

The Hitachi is not a popular model a couple of references on some of the mailing list to folks using it so we know at least anecdotally that it works with Asterisk.

For any SIP device to work it only needs to be supplied the username (extension number) SIP password (secret) and the IP of the SIP server (your FreePBX box).

Don’t even think about trying to get SIP to work behind NAT until you get the phone working on the same network.

So basically you need to understand how SIP works or you are not going to have much success.