How can an external caller call an extension

Hi All,

I’m a student helper working part time in a consulting company.
While I have a bit of knowledge on general computer systems, I am completely new to Freepbx and Asterisk.

What I would like to achieve is to have an inbound call directly forwarded to an extension.

For instance Bob wants to call Anna at extension 111. So Bob call’s the main number 12345678#111 (main number + the extension) and Anna’s phone rings at her desk.

Right now, we have a secretary who is redirecting every call manually.

I’ve searched this forum for guides or topics related but I’m so new to the terminology that my searches have yielded no useful results in this matter.

Im running on (output of asterisk -rx “core show version”):

Asterisk 1.8.11-cert1 built by root @ 89-139-19-10.digium.internal on a x86_64 running Linux on 2012-04-24 21:54:42 UTC

I believe it to be an AsteriskNOW distro.

If I need to post additional information, please provide me with commands to do so, I would appreciate that and it will help me to get more keen on the system.

This is not possible. You will need a DID to directly dial an extension. You could use an IVR also.

do a bit of reading

I was at a similar stage to you recently and I found using a IVR was a good solution. An IVR is like a digital receptionist, it allows the user to dial extension numbers once they reach the IVR.
You can download and install the IVR from the admin/module admin page. Then you should find IVR in the applications list. You will then need to add a new IVR, give it a name and set direct dial to extensions, this allows users to dial extension numbers when in the IVR. You will need to submit the changes before you can add it to the inbound route.
I am presuming that you already have an inbound route setup for dealing with the incoming calls to your main number or DID, If not then create one. Then at the bottom under set destination you can send it to your new IVR.