Having to randomly restart Asterisk service throughout the day

I have a FreePBX install running. I have had a couple of test endpoints running for a few weeks now just to test calling in/out etc. Everything seemed good so I deployed it across our school district the other night. Everything is going pretty good but I am having one HUGE problem. Randomly through out the day all new calls STOP. External can call into an IVR and get the IVR. I found out I can run service asterisk restart and within a minute everything comes back up.

I am fairly new to FreePBX and Asterisk and have no clue on the best place to start troubleshooting. Can anyone lend me some advice?

So your extensions are failing?

I’m not sure I’m clear on which part of the system you’re having trouble with. I recognize there’s a problem, I’m just not clear on which part.

Can you describe more this section : “all new calls STOP. External can call into an IVR and get the IVR.”

Hey everyone,

Sorry I am just now responding back to the questions.

My internal phones are failing. If I have an external number directed towards an IVR it will go through, if you go through the IVR and finally hit an option that calls an actual phone then it will just sit in dead space, no ringing, or anything. No internal calls will work and you can not call out.

I can restart Asterisk and within a minute everything will come back up. My voip gateway from my ISP is sip port 5080 and my internal phones are pjsip 5060. Im wondering if it is a pjsip issue. I honestly do not know where to begin.

it sounds like your phones are dropping offline. are you using the FreePBX firewall? and if yes is your internal network listed as a trusted network?

I am not using the FreePBX firewall.

it still begs the question about your phones dropping offline. when you can’t make an call, are your phones still showing as registered?

I will feel stupid but I can not answer that. The next time everything locks up I will check my desk phone.