Have 3 business numbers, how can I know which one has been called?

Hi,

I am really new to all this and am running FreePBX 2.9.0.7.

I have 3 businesses and would like to know which business has been called. I purchased different SIP phone numbers for each business and have been told that it can be configured so that my Polycom 550 phones can display the name of the company that has been called if I have all this.

I have taken a fairly comprehensive look around the software to see how and where this may be done but cannot get my head around it as I am not used to all the abbreviations etc. When I Google the abbreviations it just starts to confuse me more, I would be eternally grateful to anyone that could explain how to do this.

Many thanks,

Nick

Why would you Google the fields in FreePBX? If you hover your mouse over the word a “tooltip” will popup with a description of what that field is for.

In the inbound route for each company the field “CID Prefix” has the following tool tip:

[quote"You can optionally prefix the Caller ID name. IE: If you prefix with “Sales” a call from John Doe would appear as “Sales:John Doe” on the extensions that ring.[/quote]

Is this what you are looking for?

I wasn’t sure what a DID was etc.

That may be it.

I have tried making some changes on the PBX and restarted the phone etc and the setting I have put in are not coming up. I must be doing something wrong.

I would like my phone to say “Company 1 Ltd” if one number is dialed, “Company 2 Ltd” if another number is dialed etc.

You have three numbers for your VoIP provider, correct?

So you must have three inbound routes, 1 for each DID. In those routes you put the information you want prepended to the Caller ID.

The route should point to the phone you want to ring or the ring group of phones you want to ring.

I thought that was the case so have entered details in the following boxes:

Description: Name of company

DID number: the DID number related to that company