Hardware advice, small business

hi, I have been running Freepbx for a few years on an ASUS EEEbox without ANY problem! Recently, after power outages, the machine has been acting strange. Turns out the CMOS battery is dead. Disassembling this eeebox is a major pain, after removing heatsinks, fans, drives, ect. has me thinking maybe its just time to get a new machine.

What would you buy today for a small business Freepbx server? I have about 5 lines, at most 3 concurrent users.

budget under $300 hopefully?

I’d just run it on a laptop. Any old laptop in the last decade would work.
Make sure it has a good battery and you got yourself a pretty good UPS.
Put the FreePBX Distro in the machine, boot it up and come back in an hour, should be ready to go.

1 Like

Hi!

At that price point I don’t think you can get real server hardware unless it is used so I would get a good desktop PC…

Assuming you want to go with new hardware:

CPU: Skylake or Kaby Lake (now with Hyper Threading… :wink:) Pentium. When at idle these CPUs are apparently pretty energy efficient…
Socket type: LGA1151
Form factor: ATX or mATX. If the number of slots is important (and their type), take that into account… Don’t go with Mini ITX, this impose restrictions as far as slots and airflow is concerned…
Motherboard: Personally I would go with Gigabyte or Asus…
Case: Something with good airflow that matches the form factor of the motherboard. Don’t go with something too small, that usually means poor airflow…
Memory: DDR4, something like 8GB… Personally, I like G.SKILL…
Hard drive: Whatever you think you need… As for the brand personally I would go with Western Digital…
Power Supply: Do your research, don’t buy ([email protected], you would regret it… Personallly I would go with an EVGA G2 or something similar… Be careful, some brands simply resell other manufacturers hardware and they might go with a good manufacturer for some of their lines and a ([email protected] one for another…