Going PJSIP

I read “please note that chan_sip will be going away in future versions of Asterisk” and felt a shudder go down my spine.

I had to replace my PBX last year and decided to build a purely pjsip system, as it was the future and I needed to get my head around the new channel it seemed an obvious choice.

Now I don’t claim to an expert but I can generally get my head around most IP PBX software. My first installations many years ago were Axon PBX, then Snom One, and more recently 3CX. In addition I have installed Grandstream PBX’s and Epygi systems, all without that much drama. I first started using FreePBX on a Raspberry PI about two years ago and have been installing FreePBX for about the last year. I would guess I have done more than 200 systems over the years and about 25 FreePBX systems to date all using chan_sip. So I am no expert with Asterisk but I am not a complete idiot with VOIP either.

From first use I was very impressed with FreePBX, moving into a Linux based systems from windows was always going to have its challenges but the transition was nowhere near as painful as I expected. The systems were easy to install, quite intuitive to set up and are feature rich, robust and very reliable, what was not to like.

Then my endeavours with pjsip started. Despite my best efforts I quickly had to abandon the idea of a pjsip only system, I simply could not get a system up and running, so I went for a compromise with chan_sip as the main channel and two extensions with two trunks on pjsip to test, evaluate and learn what was needed to get the channel working.

So far my problems with pjsip have been:-

1. Pjsip trunks won’t update the IP address on remote servers when their dns moves to a new IP or the main server changes its IP. The problem is when one of the connections gets anew IP address; let’s say Server (A) gets a new external IP Address.