Getting started, the basic, basic stuff

Hello community,

I am just getting started on this well touted platform but I am very much clueless as what to do from where I am right now. So far I have been able to install AsteriskNow (I believe version 1.6, if you tell me how to check it out I can reply) and FreePBX 2.7 (now succesfully upgraded to 2.8.1.0). I have also created 2 extensions but that is about it.

To give you a bit of background info, the idea to used Asterisk and FreePBX came from a frustrating and aborted attempt to use Microsoft’s OCS (and later Lync) products. We have 2 Polycom CX700 phones, which I am afraid will not work with the new setup. If that is the case what hardphones or softphones would you recommend to use with Asterisk/FreePBX?
In our original implementation we were going to use a Dialogic Media Gateway to connect to our regular phone line (yes, I understand that it sort of defeats one of the purposes of Voip, but I assume we should gain quite a bit of quality as well, feedback is welcome). I’d like to know if we can and, if so, how to use the DMG with Asterisk/FreePBX?
For starters I’d like to be able to make calls between the 2 internal extensions already setup. Secondly, I’d like to make and receive outbound and inbound calls, respectively. And lastly, I’d like to setup the IVR to use our company’s current menu of options.

Any and all help will be tremendously appreciated.

Regards,

Andres

Thank you niacs,

I created some extensions and after downloading and installing 3CX per your recommendation I have succesfully been able to complete internal calls.