FreePBX + Windows 7 / Dual Boot - Howto

Hi, I have a 500gb HD with 3 partitions as follows:

1st partition - 150GB - installed windows 7
2nd partition - 50GB - free
3rd partition - 300GB - my document repository (music, films, …)

I’d like to install FreePBX on the 2nd partition. How can I do that since it seems that FreePBX distro image does not allow me to select which logical drive it will be installed too.

This systems should be used as a dual boot. Can somebody help me with a step/step instructions on how to do that?

kind regards
GWRosenbaum

As a newbie, I suggest you use VirtualBox to host your efforts, it is much easier than the alternatives.

Use the raw spare partition (google for how to do that) for the VM, then when more comfortable install a real boot loader on your windows box.

But this will degradate performance, right?

My setup is:
Intel NUC DC53427HYE
i5-3427U
16GB RAM
500GB mSATA HD

running Windows 7 Home Pro

thanks for the help!

You can use the the “Advanced” option but this requires some at leat basic linux knowledge to know what to partition. Then there is some bootloader stuff generally involved with dual booting because Windows is a crybaby. Your best bet is as Dicko said. Use a virtual machine. Perk of this is you can do “Snapshots” and if you completely hose something while learning you can roll back.

Only until you have it working with grub or some such bootloader , then you can boot it natively.

Thanks jfinstrom.

As this is a new computer and it has no important files on that I am open to a completely format and reinstall both Win and FreePBX from scratch if this is necessary. I could install win7 before or after FreePBX but I really want it to work as a dual boot. Isn't there a way to do it on a step by step basis? Hope you guys can help me...

kind regards

Hummm, this is an option if I fail in getting this work on dual boot. Thanks !! :slight_smile: