FreePBX (Raspberry Pi) - Grandstream HT503 - BSNL India - Setup Notes

After weeks of attempting to the get the above combination work with Caller ID and remote extensions, the setup below worked. I made notes incase the system fails and I need to reset up the system. My notes are posted below should they be useful to someone with the same issue.

Disclaimer:

1. Complete and total noob with no knowledge of Linux, Asterisk or programming. Setup only by reading these forums, wiki.freepbx.org and google.
  2. Settings not discussed have been left at default value.

Here goes:

FreePBX - Raspberry Pi - Grandstream HT 503 - Setup Notes

Devices:
Raspberry Pi - FreePBX (http://www.raspberry-asterisk.org)
Netgear DG 834 ASDL Router
Grandstream HT 503 FXO Gateway

FreePBX Setup Notes

-Do not touch any .conf file through the Linux Terminal, FreePBX will make changes to the Asterisk. wiki.freepbx.org provides the best resource for understanding the settings.

Asterisk SIP Settings need to be configured correctly i.e.,
-IP Configuration = Dynamic IP,
-Dynamic Host = (yourhostname).dynamicdns.org,
-Local Networks = (auto configure),
-NAT=yes (for remote extensions to work),
-RTP Port Range = 10002 - 20000
(Can’t be set manually if Google Module is installed in FreePBX, I removed Google Module and specified the RTP Port Range)

Extension Notes

-NAT = Yes for remote extensions
-NAT = No for local extensions
-Enter correct SIP Port and RTP Port Range in Remote Extension & Switch on NAT in Remote Extension also
-Enter DDNS server name in appropriate column in Remote Extension

Router Notes

-Forward SIP Port (UDP) to FreePBX Server
-Forward RTP Port Range (UDP) to FreePBX Server
-Disable SIP ALG

Setup till here permits Local Extensions and Remote Extensions to interact with audio.

INTRODUCING PSTN LINE (BSNL - INDIA)

Grandstream HT 503 Notes