FreePBX distro firewall

Just setup my new FreePBX distro virtual machine and everything seems to be working fine. I have lots of firewall-related experience but only with Debian-based systems and IPTABLES. What are common practices to lock down the fort? Any quick & dirty how-tos specific for the FreePBX distribution? Ideally I would like to allow incoming device connections based on MAC addresses, as my clients have dynamic IPs. Is that safe enough?

The “distro” has no specific firewall, but does have fail2ban that adds some iptables chains.

Given your experience, perhaps you should consider installing
Wheezy/Apache/PHPAsterisk/FreePBX/Dahdi on your virtualized machine , it’s in the WIKI here as to howto.

I personally use Debian and CSF for my FreePBI , CSF is a nice front end to iptables which can nicely envelop fail2ban.

The biggest thing apart from the normal ssh/apache2 stuff is to lock down SIP signalling on UDP/5060, (I suggest you change SIP to use another “not well known port” ) and of course use https:// rewriting on your apache2 server. Other ports to protect are TCP/5038 the asterisk AMI and 3306 for mysql if you use the distro there are other ports left open for third party services that are left open, netstat -aunt and lsof should expose those culprits.

Add rkhunter to the mix from the beginning and you have a solid Debian based starting point.

(I might add that iptables is not very good at filtering layer 3 traffic by mac addresses :wink: )

MAC addresses are layer 2 not layer 3. They don’t leave the local network segment. You can’t filter MAC addresses on a routed connection.

Let me open by saying you are responsible for your own security!!!
Ok that’sout of the way something I threw together https://gist.github.com/jfinstrom/21d7d83b79d57850deb1

If you’re an iptables guy this should land you in the right neighborhood. You can loosen or tighten as you see fit.

Nice work James!