Force IVR to ignore invalid user entries

Hello everyone!

I am a beginner with FreePBX and I have my first setup almost complete, I have a problem with IVR settings. Right now, incoming call goes to IVR, hears the announcement and when he enters an invalid entry, announcement stops and depending on the settings goes to ring group or replays the message or goes to invalid entry announcement.

I need for the IVR to ignore the invalid entries that the user enters and continue the announcement waiting for a valid entry from the user or for the timeout. Tried all the options in IVR settings, but nothing worked…Any ideas?

Each IVR has an “invalid destination” (and a timeout destination), just send it back to the same IVR

But what I want is for the announcement to continue not stop and start again. Basically what I need is:

Caller calls - IVR starts announcement - Caller enters wrong extension - IVR continues like nothing happened - Caller enters correct extension - IVR transfers the call to the extension

Now, the last 2 parts I know how to do. The problem is in the first 3 parts

You would have to rewrite that part of the logic in the dialplan that currently returns an invalid entry to the IVR’s invalid destination. Likely a ‘gosub’ routine could do that, but human engineering would require you to let the caller know he ‘effed up’ and to retry , you would need to reset the timeout counter also.

When you say “rewrite that part of the logic in the dialplan” what do you mean?

You can rewrite any context of the dial plan as it comes from FreePBX and put that context in

/etc/asterisk/extensions_override_freepbx.conf

This is not trivial and takes quite a lot of RTFM’ing I suggest you start with

http://asterisk-service.com/downloads/Asterisk-%20The%20Definitive%20Guide,%204th%20Edition.pdf

the context you might want to override would start with

[ivr-n] ; yourivrname

and ends with

;--== end of [ivr-n] ==--;

in the /etc/asterisk/extensions_additional.conf file