Follow Me using analog line only

Hi,

I am newbie here. Forgive me if some of my technical terms are not correct.
I would like to ask if the following setup is possible.

• We only have 1 landline(no VOIP/SIP setup)
  • Setup a FreePBX server with FXO card
  • When user call-in, a IVR will answer the call and ask user to enter extension
  • The extension will forward the call to a external mobile number

I guess the above is not possible since we only have one landline. And due to company policy, we cannot register a 2nd landline for the forwarding.

Alternatively, I also think another way.

• When user call-in, a IVR will answer the call, enter extension, and ask user to hold
  • Then the server will call the external mobile number using 3-way conference

Thank you very much~!

No this is not possible on Analog line. you need 2 lines.

I wouldn’t say “not possible”. I’d say "way harder than an average user would be able to do.

The problem is getting the conference set up while the first user is on hold.

The better solution would be to send them to a “leave a message” with the explanation: “All of our outbound lines are busy right now. Please enter the extension of the person you wish to talk to and we will forward your message to their cell phone.” After that, you just send them a message using the standard Voicemail notification stuff (with headers turned on) and they can go to town.

Note that this doesn’t protect the contact’s cell phone number - in order to do that (make the call appear to be from inside your network) you will need to set up something else.