First boot and basic install question

Hi,
I am new to all PBX systems and install process. I just purchased a new(used computer) to dedicate a drive for the system. I downloaded
the iso file and extracted it to an empty 8 gig thumb drive and changed my bios to first boot to that removable drive. all i get is a blinking courser. am i going about this correctly and is it true you need a dedicated drive to install pbx? The install directions
state to burn iso to a dvd however is it doable with a thumb drive.
any thoughts on why my system is not running a set up process of the iso?

It’s not really doable from a thumb drive at this time.

We are actively looking for people to help with this process however.

Burned and installed astrix 1.8 today
Does free pbx require internet access or just basic dial tone
during the initial research i found this seems to be helpful info

seems i am new the above is just a little advanced for me and excited to try my new pbx if no internet connection is needed i can configure centos 6.3 later.
is free pbx configured through centos command line?

Im going through the procedures listed in the initial set up instructions
first i must connect to a network by the way the instructions look.
i go to update yum -y update
outputs-"couldn’t resolve host form mirrorlist free pbxdistro.org…"
However im not even sure if i have internet connection previous post tried to bypass internet connection but does not look like that is going be happening

fails internet access test on boot
msg=Some firstboot error occurred, and the system is not properly set up. check internet connection and re-run /ecft/pbx_first_boot.sh
press ctrl,alt,f1 to continue

loads centos 6.3 when pressed

if you type nano a system config editor will appear
but i follow the instructions, here http://www.pwrusr.com/system-administration/solved-centos-6-networking-and-hyper-v

for a striped down version below as follows
nano /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
DEVICE=eth0