External SIP Phones. AH HELP!

Warning: I am a newbie to Linux, FreePBX, and configuring SIP IP phones.

So we have Asterisk installed on CentOS. We also are using FreePBX and our trunks are provided by DirecPath. The phone models I’m using are Cisco 7940s and 7960s. I just converted the phones from SCCP to SIP v8.12 after finally getting my .cnf and .xml files straight. DHCP is working and the firewall settings have been triple-checked. All phones inside the network can successfully make calls, but outgoing voice is not working. I’m pretty sure I can get that solved, but I have a bigger problem on my hands. If someone has a suggestion to the outgoing voice issue, that would also be helpful. The problem described below is a bigger problem at the moment.

I upgraded my own 7940 to SIP v8.12 and brought it home, but cannot download files from my WinAgent TFTP server. The download shows up in the log, but times out. The TFTP server is in the same office that the Asterisk server is. From what I have been reading, you need NAT enabled for the external SIP phones to connect to the server through an external address. We have our sip.conf file modified to enable NAT, phones set to enable NAT, and the SIP.cnf files set to enable NAT. I do not have NAT enabled in SIPDefault.conf since the phones inside the network don’t need it. I have checked all of my network settings and everything is right as far as I can see.

If someone has any idea as to what I’m looking over or doing incorrectly, please help. A detailed checklist of instructions to connect external SIP phones to an office would be much appreciated. =) Feel free to ask as many questions as you need. I can also upload my config files if needed.

The Cisco’s are one of the most difficult phones to get working remotely, in my opinion. For both security, stability and voice quality I would highly recommend a VPN.