Extension not registering - stumped

I am a novice contractor helping out with a site that implemented Trixbox and Asterisk and FreePBX. They use Cisco 7940 phones

I am also a novice at linux but I can find my way around the system. Although I don’t understand a lot of the configuration, most everything seems to be working and frankly I am afraid to tweak (look but don’t touch)

I have an extension setup in FreePBX 6531 which will simply not register. I can reconfigure the exact same phone for another extension and it reloads the SIP configuration and works fine, so it is not the physical phone -nor is it the associated MAC ID or the SIPxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.cnf file

I decided it must be something to do with the actual 6531 extension. Looking at various conf files, searching for the the 6531 string I found several exten ==> lines for 6531. I found only one anomaly.

My extension 5747 also has several exten lines but I have one which reads
exten ==> hint, SIP/5747. The same hint line for 6531 reads hint, custom/6531.

There is a warning saying not to modify this file directly as modifications should be done through asterisk. I don’t see anywhere in the FreeBBX extension creation screen where this is configured. There is dial: but both read SIP/5747 and SIP/6531 respectively. The FreePBX screens for my extension and the problem extension look nearly exactly alike (password, email config, etc…)

Lastly I was trying to telnet into the Cisco phone to try to decipher the
"E640 REG msg unsupported: in 404 request failure" -which other sites say means the phone could not register with SIP
Lots of Debug information but no clear reason why it timeouts or fails every 60 seconds.

So I don’t feel comfortable restarting any services/programs on the linux box, but I would really like to figure out why one extension works great and the other fails.

Thanks in advance

Tom

Is the extension a SIP type? Could you have chosen custom by accident?