Execute System Command when Extension is dialed

I want to be able to execute a system() call every time an extension is dialed.

Can anyone suggest best practice for doing this in a way that will not be overwritten by upgrades or configuration changes in the GUI?

Thanks in advance.

An oldie but a goodie:

Write a custom context that supplements the “lrom-local” context that calls and uses an ARI to run a program that can be written in “C”, PHP, or PERL. From there, you can simulate whatever you want to make happen and still have access to the context environment. You can also, if that’s too much to ask, use PERL and PHP to run various 'system()"-like functions.

1 Like

Thank you for your response.

When I am looking for is the process for extending the context in the custom configuration files

Is this what you mean?

https://wiki.freepbx.org/plugins/servlet/mobile?contentId=26509798#content/view/26509798

I have never used CUSTOM DESTINATIONS for this before. The CUSTOM DESTINATIONS module allows you to point various locations to your custom extensions. But, I have never used it in-line like I want to do here.

To clarify… I want to run a SYSTEM() command every time someone dials the extension of another user.

The process for completing a call to a user’s extension is already included in the “from-internal” context. But, to include the line “exten => 200,n,system(somescript.sh)” gets overwritten when anything changes in FreePBX. That being said, how can I ensure that my system() call gets run every time someone’s extension gets dialed?

You would create a custom context with your commands in the custom conf file.

You would use the wiki I linked above to define that custom context in FreePBX. This will make the GUI aware of your custom context.

On the applicable inbound route, have it point at your custom destination.

If needed, use the return option. You could send it to another step from within the GUI (message, extension, etc.).