Enable/Disable OR Add/Remove External Phone Number from Ring Group

Hello and thank you for your input. I searched for an answer but could not find what I was looking for. I am a newbie who set up a simple config freePBX at our small business. Incoming calls are routed to a ring all ring group. If I am away from the office but still on premises, I can add my cell phone to the ring group using. 1234567890#. So, my cell phone rings if there is an incoming call. This works great, but the only way I know how to do this is to edit the ring group by adding my cell phone number, and then update the configuration. When I’m back in the office, I have to remove my cell phone number from the ring group. Ideally, I would like to be able to basically enable and disable this cell phone number from my IP phone in the office using a code or even DS key assignment. This would allow other users to perform the same task. Is my explanation clear? If so, how do I go about this? Many thanks!

There are a couple of options for you here.

1. You could get a Softphone app for your cell phone and enable/disable it on the cell phone.
  2. Find Me/Follow Me is the second option and that’s configured under each individual extension.

One thing to consider if you add your cell phone under Find Me/Follow me under your extension is that your extension would need to have a # at the end of it in the ring group for the ring group to utilize the Find Me/Follow me settings.

Use Call Flow Control and create a BLF key on your desk phone. Enabled and lit: it goes to Ring Group 1, which includes your cell phone. Disabled and unlit: it goes to Ring Group 2, which doesn’t include your cell phone.