Do-Not-Disturb

Hi, I’m new to FreePBX and having a bit of a problem. 280XXXXX <-- This telephone no. apparently has a Do-Not-Disturb feature activated. It requests you to key in a password. However, whenever we dial that number from our end it will just keep on ringing and you will not even hear the Do-Not-Disturb voicemail setup by the callee. Now, during my troubleshooting, I found out that it happens only on a particular Outbound Route. The other Outbound Route that we use connects just fine and you can hear the Do-not-disturb voicemail. I wonder what’s wrong with this?

I use FreePBX 2.9.0.7 and Asterisk 1.6

Please feel free to ask me for additional info. if more is needed.

The additional info would be

“What version of Asterisk 1.6?” (less recent versions are buggy)

“how are you sending DTMF to that carrier?” (hopefully dtmfmode=? in you trunk settings, they should provide a template)

“Are you using inband DTMF signalling in over a compressed codec?” (this just won’t work and is your problem)

“how effective is each carrier in passing DTMF signaling?” (If they say RFC1833 or auto but the detection is not working, then bitch at them, if the want SIP info then make sure you are using it)

Let’s start there . . . .

Hi Dicko,

Sorry just got back from weekend off. Here are the additional info. you requested:

Asterisk ver. 1.6.2.18.2
For the DTMF, it actually goes via the DAHDI Trunks.

As for your question, “Are you using inband DTMF signalling in over a compressed codec?”… Can you tell me where to check this one out? (Sorry, like I said I’m a newbie on this)

Thank you for your help!

If you are using Dahdi and ulaw for US or alaw for most every where else, then you should be good codec wise, they are uncompressed. You might need to tune your rxgain/txgain if you have a wildly imbalanced trunk, you didn’t say what your dahdi trunks are, FXO (analog) or TDM (digital).