Dial-in unattended message service

This may be the wrong place to ask this and if it is I’m sorry. I’m completely new to VOIP/SIP/Asterix/FreePBX and all it entails, but I’m hoping someone can help me.

I work with a small UK charity and we need to arrange something where our service users can dial a number and listen to a message during the current pandemic/isolation.

All I need is something that will answer a call, play an MP3 (ideally from another server) and then hang up the call automatically.

A quick Google shows that Asterisk supports the command MP3Player(http://link.to/stream.m3u) and this would be ideal.

What I need to know is, is it possible to configure this using FreePBX? And how?

My Googling has led me to believe that the way to do it is to pass all incoming calls to a specific virtual extension and then to create a “dial plan” for that extension which answers the call, runs MP3Player() and then hangs up. However I am none-the-wiser as to how to do this using the FreePBX front end.

Could anyone help?

Do you have an existing FreePBX system and are planning to add this service? If not, I recommend a platform such as Twilio or one of their competitors, which will save you the effort and learning curve of setting up a PBX.

Otherwise, you could use MP3Player by putting in /etc/asterisk/extensions_custom.conf:
[play_message]
exten => s,1,MP3Player(http://link.to/stream.m3u)
exten => s,n,Return()

Then, create a Custom Destination with Target:
play_message,s,1
Set Return to Yes and Destination to Terminate Call -> Hangup.

Finally, point the Inbound Route for the number in question to the custom destination.

If your message is static or rarely changes, don’t bother with any of this. Just upload it as a System Recording, create an Announcement that plays it, point the Announcement to Terminate Call -> Hangup, and point the Inbound Route to your Announcement.

Stewart1, many thanks for taking the time to reply and so comprehensively.