Creative uses or "Best use of " for FreePBX and smart phones?

I am curious about creative uses for FreePBX and Android and/or iPhone. More importantly, in terms of actual (reliable) uses of an Android or an iPhone wrt business intelligence and something I call UC Simple. I define UC Simple as Calls, SMS, Chat, Voice Mail, eMail and the ability to view a FAX sent to you via email.

On my own end, I am having fun trying different methods of attempting to connect to FreePBX with a droid cell phone. For the most part I find that SipDroid and the 3CX softphone are basically unusable. Google Voice is almost as bad when used as a primary call completion method. I just got updates to all the aforementioned so I will have to report back.

Anyone out there have experiences they would share ?

Robert.
Good question. As an absolute novice (but zealot for Asterisk), I’m toying with Acrobits softphone on my iphone. No luck in the setup yet but the potential is obvious.
UC Simple is the panacea. Please keep me posted.

Rad

Not that this is going to win the contest for most brilliant, but I just set up several of the iPhones in our small company with Siphon, and each is lashed up to the extension of the person carrying the iPhone. Thus, the iPhone is the wireless handset adjunct to their desk phone. Works great, we get all our calls (we get a lot of them), and of course we can yap all day on our iPhones through our WiFI and PBX.

Don’t mention it to Apple and AT+T, but we throttled back to their minimal plans. Don’t need those minutes anymore! When we get Ward’s Travelin’ Man setup figured out and working, we’ll be able to take that same show completely on the road.

I’d say that is a pretty smart use of Asterisk and smartphones. Are the seperate extensions from the desk phones or are you using follow me ?