Connecting remote phones to PBX that's on LAN and configuring phones outside of TFTP auto-provision

I’m in the process of ‘playing’ and learning about FreePBX. I’m new to phone systems in general. So far, I’ve got FreePBX installed and I have 2 Cisco SPA 504G phones to use. I went ahead and purchased CM Endpoint Manager and I’ve got a phone template set up for the SPA504Gs, local networks configured/trusted, extensions created, phones assigned, etc. and the phones autoprovision via TFTP and they work! I can call each extension, use voicemail, DTMF is working with a test IVR, I have an outbound route set up with a prefix that isn’t used with any trunks yet, etc. I’ve only used PJSIP so far w/ port 5060 (default).

Here is my network layout for FreePBX
-172.16.1.1/24 pfSense LAN1
-172.16.1.4 FreePBX interface (only interface on server)
-172.16.200.1/24 pfSense LAN2
-172.16.200.101-254 DHCP range on LAN2 for testing phones, with option 66 to point to FreePBX TFTP

• +WAN gateway on pfSense, ex. 72.81.4.253 public IP (not mine, just picked random for example)
    **To keep it simple, all LAN to LAN traffic is currently allowed…

I’d like to test out connecting a few phones into the FreePBX from outside of the local network. If I use FreePBX for a production solution, I’ll have to accommodate 10 remote SOHO users. For site-to-site, I would simply use VPN tunnels, and allow them to communicate through the LAN to FreePBX (like trusted).

I’m not quite sure how the phones connect to the PBX yet, but I thought that the details must be in the TFTP config- which comes from the phone template/mapping? The details being username/secret and SIP gateway?