Conditional call answering

Hello,
I’m new to freePBX and Asterisk.
I set up freePBX on a rPi, connecting to a Fritzbox as sip client.

I’m looking for a solution to prevent the numerous robocalls. Forcing the caller to dial a number to get whitelisted as was proposed in a post here, is a good solution. I would like to go further though and first check the incoming number against a web page, hosting comments on undesired calls.
I managed to create an AGI script which does so but I’m afraid I’m missing some basics.
My plan was to have freePBX check the number and only answer the call , if it’s listed as spam (leaving the call handling to the Fritzbox) but I can’t find an option to do nothing instead of ending a call. This made me wonder if Asterisk will answer the call already before going through the call handling.

Could somebody help me out please?

I can’t think of any reason such a web site would permit automated use without an API Key and payment.

Asterisk won’t answer a call before the callee answers unless you do something that requires an answer, or explicitly answer.

I believe that simple extensions, on FreePBX, work that way, by default.

It’s a protocol violation to not send a final response to a SIP INVITE. Even if you go into such a long wait that the other side CANCELs, there will still be a Request Cancelled final response. It’s not like analogue where doing nothing is indistinguishable from not connected.

I’m assuming you are trying to simulate an analogue phone arrangement, where you could have a phone in parallel with automation that does the screening, and the automation only loops the line if it identifies a known spammer, rather than the TruCall type of arrangement, where the call is only connected through if identified as safe.

It’s for private use only. I use this web site already since month manually, so it should be fine. It’s a good point though and I should add the numbers of that site to a blacklist, which would be checked first.