Clocking/Timing: To Virtualize or Not to Virtualize

Hello!

I’ve been putting in physical machines running Asterisk for over 10 years. They’ve always been physical machines and have always had Sangoma PRI cards.

Back in the day I thought I remembered reading that Asterisk required a telephony card for accurate clocking/timing - in fact Sangoma used to sell a USB device for accurate clocking/timing for servers that didn’t have any telephony cards (systems were using a SIP trunk).

I’m assuming that Asterisk has more accurate clocking now and telephony hardware is no longer required (https://wiki.asterisk.org/wiki/display/AST/Timing+Interfaces). Am I correct in this assumption? Would the timing be accurate enough clocking for 200 hundred phones, 30 or 40 concurrent calls, and MoH?

And if accurate timing is achieved without any hardware can this same sized system (200 phones, 40 concurrent calls) work in a Microsoft Server 2012 R2/2016/2019 Hyper-V Virtualized environment (assuming fast disk subsystem, 8 or 16 GB of RAM, and multiple CPU cores)? This question gets to the accuracy of the VM clocking specifically for Microsoft Hyper-V.

Any thoughts would certainly be appreciated!
Thanks! Dave

Yes, you are.

1 Like

Thanks, Dave, for answering my question about Asterisk timing interfaced.

Somehow my final question about whether a Hyper-V environment would be suitable for a virtualized FreePBX system wasn’t displayed correctly, but now I “fixed” it. Can anyone address this question for me?

Thanks for the help!

I know you are asking about Hyper-V, so this is not quite on target, but I run FreePBX on VMWare and it works great, I would not run it any other way.
…For what it’s worth

There are lots of virtualized platforms running FreePBX out there. Check back through the archives for lots of posts about running your system on other people’s hardware you have no control over.