Cisco SPA525g2 oneway audio on other lines

Hi,

Newbie here. i’m using FreePBX 2.11.0.11, Asterisk 11.
We are having intermittent audio issues, at times one way audio or even no audio at all. we are experiencing this even within extensions calling. Our server is located outside of our network and other extensions are on different network as well. we observed this problem especially when our pbx server losses brief internet connections. But it’s also happening on a random basis even if the server doesn’t loose internet connections.

We are also having one way or no audio issue on Cisco SPA525g2 5 lines SIP phone(located in a different network). the phone is configured with 3 different user extensions (lines 1,2, and 3).
line 1 seems to be working fine, however, lines 2 and 3 are having one way or no audio at times and would need to perform factory reset, then reconfigure the lines 2 and 3 again for it to work. And we’re experiencing this issue over and over.

any help would be greatly appreciated…

Thanks,

1 - Get a reliable Internet connection, the phones can’t work if you can’t reach the server. Voice requires an excellent connection.

2 - Setup a VPN back to your remote server so you don’t have so many connections (1 per button on your phones) back to your remote server.

Sorry for the late reply.

Sorry, I’m pretty new to this stuff, not sure if i understand you correctly or not. As for setting up VPN, are we going to setup VPN on the FreePBX server itself or on the network where the SPA525g2 is located?

To give you a clear view of our network. Our FreePBX server is hosted by HE, a group of extensions are located in a remote network, and the Cisco SPA525g2 is located in a different remote network.

maybe you could provide me a documentation or link on how to setup a VPN.

thank you very much in advance

A VPN is a type of connection. How to set it up is dependent on your equipment.

Does your hosting provider offer IPsec connections?