Cisco 7960G help please

Hi all,

I am pretty new to all this and in desperate need of help.

I am trying to get my 7960G phones to be on SIP, I have managed to get most of the files I need apart from 1. the file the ends in .tlv is the issue, the phone keeps on saying error authenticating the file.

From what I read online that I have to create an empty file with the correct naming which i have done, but the phone is still not happy with it.

Any help would be appropriated, I have spent hours trying to make it work with no joy.

Regards,

Saif

Question would be, where did you get this sip file from?.. More importantly, this is help for freepbx and configuration issues, you would probably need to contact someone on the Cisco forums, or Cisco directly… but again they are going to want to know where you got the SIP file from. One just does not download such a file without a Cisco support contract.

i downloaded them from the internet. they have posted the way to do it but they dont explain where we get all the files from.

I won’t tell you what to do, I am sure you are adult enough to make decisions.

Here is the problem, no one here will assist you with configuring the phones, these forums are related to freepbx issues mainly.

Also something you need to take into account is where you got that file from, you know nothing about that file and what it has been built to do. You never know if someone put in a back door, a virus or something else to compromise your system.

If I where you, I would pay for a Cisco support option which I think is around $35, get the real sip file and ask for support on their forums. It’s not worth dealing with doggy stolen material like that. It is stolen by the way, Cisco do not publicly publish files like these for free on the internet.

Don’t take this the wrong way, I am just saying the truth.

Hope you get it sorted out.

Ok, thank you for your help.