Choppy Custom Recordings and Voicemail (MOH and built-in recordings work fine)

I’m a newbie to Linux/Asterisk/FreePBX but I’m catching on quick. I’ve spent the last week trying to get a system up and running the way I want.

The only thing keeping me from rolling this out to production is audio issues on anything that I have recorded myself using the System Recordings Module from a connected phone or any of my voice mail messages that I have recorded. The audio seems to skip or stutter randomly every 5-10 seconds.

If I download the actual recorded .wav file to my computer and play it, it sounds crystal clear, so this appears to be a playback issue within Asterisk. The problem does not seem to present itself when playing any of the built-in Asterisk files (including Music on Hold). Also, this doesn’t appear to be an issue with my phones as the same problem presents itself whether I connect via a SIP extension or from an outside line via the Trunk.

CPU Usage stays below 1% while playing back the audio, so it doesn’t appear to be a performance issue.

The likely culprit, from what I have read so far, seems to be a timing issue. This is a VOIP only setup with no FXO/FXS card. I am using dahdi_dummy which appears to be up and running, but performing below par. dahdi_test gives Max 99.995% Min 99.683% Avg 99.883.

My asterisk server (CentOS 5.4) is running on a virtual machine under Windows Server 2008 Hyper-V R2 and has the latest (version 2.0) Integration Services for Linux installed. Unfortunately, I believe the virtual environment is what is causing my timing problems. The integration services offer support for accelerated disk and ethernet access via VMBUS, but I don’t believe there is any hardware timing or synchronization support.