Changing/removing ring tones based on scripting

Hi all,

I will start by saying I am a FreePBX/Asterisk newbie, so please be gentle with me.

I am currently playing around with a “proof of concept” for my local community based radio station. I am looking at replacing our current PSTN phones with a FreePBX setup and would like to include some scripting into the install.

As of the extensions would be in radio studio environments, I would like the phones to not make an audible ringing tone only when the microphones in the studio are live.

The broadcast panel we use can output a closed circuit when the microphones are live. As I am using freepbx on a raspberry pi, I can easily interface this with the GPIO ports and return the port value in a python script.

What I am struggling with is how to configure the scripting on the asterisk side of things.

Additionally, I am hoping to do this at the extension level rather than at the ring group configuration as I would prefer the phone to ring in the studio that ISNT on air at any given time.

Any advice or script samples would be greatly appreciated.

thanks everyone.

Back in the 1960s and '70s, we did this much easier.

We used the Microphone “active” relay to turn on the “On Air” light outside the door and silenced the external ringer on the phone. We then silenced the ringer on the “in studio” phone and left the line lights enabled.

Thats exactly what we have now!

We are just lacking in a number of other areas and thats the reason I want to replace our current system with an IP PBX.

Conceptually, the methodology is still sound.

The thing I’d advise against the Raspberry. The SD-Cards that are used are not designed for the write-read cycles that a PBX typically generates in a commercial setting - for a house where you get three or four calls a day, they’re probably fine, but in a place that takes 60 calls an hour, the SD-card solution isn’t going to cut it.