Change phone configs for 200+ phones to enable DHCP and change default gateway

Hey guys,

I’m looking to change a bunch of phones from using a static IP to grabbing one from DHCP while also editing the default gateway. I know I can physically do this from the phone, but if I could save myself from going to every phone in the building it would be immensely helpful.

I’m pretty new to FreePBX and Asterisk. I’ve set up plenty of phones, but the back end was handled by someone else until they left. I was tasked with VLANing off the phones. Which has gone flawlessly in a test environment, but this is the last hurdle. I don’t want to spend my weekend manually changing every phone.

Thank you for the assistance!

-Paul

I just posted a suggestion for freepbx 15 to have a command in EPM to factory reset phones. What would you like to see added in FreePBX 15?

This will help people like you.

I remember we had to do this once at a client with 40+ Grandstream phones, IIRC we wrote a curl script which logged into each phone, factory resetted the phone, and we obviously had DHCP option 66 activated, so as soon as the phone came back up it automatically provisioned with the correct extension. Good times…

Not sure it would be much help. I’d still need to touch phones to enter the IP for the phone server, as well as put in the user/password creds.

Unless there’s a way to push those…

In either case, a way to alter the configs on all the phones remotely at once would be immensely helpful.

This is called provisioning, and endpoint provisioning has been provided by the Endpoint Manager module for a very long time. Unless your time is worthless, any environment with more than a handful of phones should not be manually configuring phones, and I can’t for the life of me imagine how you ended up with 200 phones with static IPs.

You are probably stuck with touching every phone at this point, but with proper planning, it should be for the last time.