Cell phone outgoing call restriction

I’m new to the phone system business. I have a PBX setup working just fine. I wanted to know if there is a way to restrict cellular calls on specific extensions, any help would be appreciated.

You can use the class of service module to achieve this. You can allow/restrict particular outbound call routes on particular extensions

https://wiki.freepbx.org/display/FPG/Class+of+Service

Is this a paid module?
My client does not want t spend more money so that would be an issue

This is additional functionality over and above the standard installation. It is a paid module, and if the customer isn’t going to pay for it and you are on the hook to supply it, you are going to pay for it; one way or the other.

You can do the work and set up the functionality by hand (which will cost you time) or you can spend the money ($99 for a 25-year license) and install it. At what I charge for my time, the module is definitely the way to go.

Extension Routing module has the requested feature set and is cheaper than COS:

1 Like

Thanks, well either way they will have to spend money weather I do it by manually or buy the module

Yeah, that’s the conundrum we all find ourselves in from time to time. Sometimes you have to take one for the team and pass the cost on later. Either of the commercial modules identified should get you where you want to go, so after that, it’s just the cost of the change order.

Thanks for the help. Greatly appreciated

I am assuming (based on searching your name) that you’re in Australia.

A new system might be set up for example assigning extensions 150-159 to key people and 160-179 to lower level staff.

Then, if you want to deny extensions 160-179 from calling mobiles, you could set up an Outbound Route with
Match Pattern: 0[45]X.
and
CallerID: 1[67]X
ahead of the regular routes, with no trunks.

If you want to deny only a few specific troublemakers, you would need one pattern for each extension to be matched.