Backup/Restore from FreePBX v2.9.0.7/Asterisk v1.6.2.2.0 to latest revision

All;

I am new to the Asterisk world, and am currently experiencing a bugger of a time getting my head wrapped around this interesting application. I am currently tasked with migrating from a inherited FreePBX v2.9.0.7/Asterisk v1.6.2.2.0 system to FreePBX 2.10.1.2/Asterisk v1.8.11.

I have attempted unsuccessfully to import the daily backup files from the current production system to the new system without any success. might anyone here offer any guidance and if possible point me to a very easy to read step-by-step guide to making this a reality.

In addition to learning VOIP telephony, I am also having to cut my teeth on learning the *nix environment as well, after serving as a prior Windows administrator. Thanks in advance for any and all assistance you all may bring to bear.

Sincerely,

Kevin

In general it is impossible to “backup and restore” successfully to a version of FreePBX that is not at the same level i.e. 2.N.

Either upgrade the old machine or install a version of FreePBX that agrees with it an then upgrade to “latest”. It is probably safest to do the same with your Asterisk versions.

This probably means manually installing the “new” system as I don’t think there are any official FreePBX iso’s that match,

http://downloads.freepbxdistro.org/ISO/

Maybe PIAF will cover you though if you choose the right iso from them.

Neither distro’s currently support direct upgrading to newer OS’s though so make sure you use only older hardware or you might be further frustrated as in genereal those needed drivers are not included.