Availability of NV Fax Detect in latest FreePBX Distro

Hi everyone. This is my first post in this forum and I am a beginner with FreePBX and in general with the asterisk.
However this is the question:
the “NV Fax Detect” method to detect incoming fax calls does not seem to be available in the latest Freepbx distribution. Is there a means to install it, even from the source?
Thanks.

I can provide more information on the setup of my configuration, but essentially I would like to route incoming faxes to FreePBX (VM on esxi host) to another machine running Debian (another VM on the same esxi host) with IAXModem and Hylafax server installed.

I’ve only a number from my VOIP provider ad i’m finding a method to distinguish fax from voice calls.

Using the same number for voice and fax has various issues and is generally not recommended. In most developed countries, numbers cost next to nothing and you should just get a separate number for fax.

If you have a good reason to share a number (you have printed brochures or business cards with the same number for voice and fax, or you are in a place where numbers are expensive), the fax detection built into FreePBX will do as well as NVFaxDetect. They both work fine, but waste four seconds of the caller’s time (and trunk time) on every voice call.

If your voice calls are always answered by an IVR, what might work better is

which could listen for CNG tone and DTMF during the initial announcement. Be prepared to write a fair amount of custom dial plan to make it work well.

However, if you plan to send voice calls to an extension, ring group, etc., then you are stuck, even in theory. You either waste the caller’s time while you decide he’s not a fax, or you needlessly disturb the human agents by ringing their phones on every fax call (and if they answer too quickly the fax will fail).

Thanks Stewart for your kindly and useful response!