AsteriskNow Ver. 11.10.0 and T.38

Let me start by saying thanks for just looking at my first post, I’m a Asterisk Newb, and the only thing I know about Linux is how to spell it… barely! but I’ve managed an Asterisk system in the past and found it to be very easy to learn and manage, so I thought I would try creating one… starting from scratch. I installed asteriskNow from the ISO. great I’m up and running, but now I want to get the faxing to work through my asterisk server. can someone please get me step by step instructions on how to do this? I’ve googled for the last 3 days and either the instructions are way old referencing versions 1.6 or 1.8 or they are way over my head… then when I do run across one that makes sense it tells me to edit this conf file or that one, and as soon as I nano that file it tells me at the top “DO NOT EDIT” this file… again sorry for being a newb and hopeful that I can get this working.

Hi and welcome to our forum. You mentioned Asterisk but you did not mention FreePBX.

AsteriskNow installs FreePBX but with the Digium FAX solution that requires licenses.

The official FreePBX distro includes open source faxing preconfigured. You can also enable T.38 on any SIP peer.

Oh, Thanks SkykingOH! Is that available in an ISO format, that just installs? as I said before, I’m very new to linux and do not feel comfortable compiling code.

Look under admin there is a digium addons module. You can add a single instance fax licence for free.

jfinstrom, I did that initially, and I even got the free license emailed to me, when I looked at the instructions for how to install said license, I froze… then cried, then moved on… way to much for this windows guy… need gui based stuff… or at best easy cli stuff. Sorry

If you have the Digium Add Ons module you should not have to use the CLI.