Asterisk and bell systems

Hi all,
I work in a school that has an old Valcom Paging and Bell system
I want to get rid of it.
So I want to setup an extension that will “auto call” specific extensions by time
(e.g. at 9am it will call all classrooms play a 5 sec beep and hangup, and at 10am it will call only grades 1 through 5 play a 5 sec beep and hangup)

Can someone help me ?
Thanks…

Is this in the US? What you have described does not meet the standard for a school bell system.

Yes, I’m in the US.
What is wrong with my bell system ?
What is the standard for a school bell system in the US ?

It appears I may have junped too soon. The standards are for Ohio School Construction. I am just so used to bidding these school RFP’s to these specs I thought they were National.

So to that end, if this is a public school the standards would come out of the states technology guidelines. This is mostly driven by e-rate, the mechanism for providing matching funds for technology projects.

Anyway, from a FreePBX perspective you can’t do it from the web interface. Asterisk has rich scheduling in the extensions language. You can also generate call files with cron scripts to fire calls off.

from a FreePBX perspective you can’t do it from the web interface

While this is true of standard FreePBX, there is a 3rd party module that can schedule calls via the GUI, POSSA’s Wakeup Call module.

Currently this module does not schedule recurring calls, but that is one of the features on the road map for the near term.

Thanks lgaetz,
I hope that will help…
I never said anything about a gui (exten => something,something…)
But if “Hotel-Style-Wakeup-Calls” has a gui, that is a plus.
btw, how do I compile from a github in centos ?

Thanks.

No compilation necessary, installation instructions are in the project wiki: