Answer call on another phone?

Hi im new to freepbx but i have managed to get my system working by reading here on the forums and other places online, the system that i have is composed of asterisk 1.6 with FreePBX 2.9.0.7, with a tdm 410 pci card with 2/fxo and 2/fxs ports, and connected to it are 4 linksys 922 phones, to the tdm410 there is 1 comcast digital voice line connected.

now i have two phones on a ring group at the front desk and they both ring at the same time when a call comes in, but if one of them is on a call, and a call comes in clients get a busy signal, what i would like to do if possible is to make it that when a call comes in, it can be answered and rings on the other phone on the ring group, is that possible? do i need to add an extra line? and if its possible how could i achieve this?

Thank you in advance.

If you only have 1 phone line from Comcast you can only have 1 call at a time. Additional calls will get a busy signal. If you want a second call you will need to add another phone line and can have 2 calls at once. If a third call comes in they will get a busy signal.

awesome thanks for the quick answer so a trunk would be better then? the level is about 3 to 6 calls at one time

It’s much cheaper to get a truck than multiple lines. I get my service from a company at www.microadvantageinc.com and have been very happy with them. It allows me multiple calls coming in (or out) without running out of lines.

In my case I did keep a physical phone line as well (POTS)because I still want phone service even if my Internet goes down. I publish that number as my main number then have the phone company forward if busy to the VOIP trunk line. My 800# goes directly to the VOIP.

In a business environment I can’t see a reason for a customer to EVER get a busy signal.

Physical phone lines are better for faxing too (if you need fax support), though I’ve heard that t.38 can handle it, I have yet to try it out…