Another method of MoH Streaming using only files and as Default

There are many solutions to do MoH Most use the streaming MoH and MPG123, none worked for me for two main reasons.

1: You cannot set a stream MoH as default (Yes I know you can edit the musiconhold_additional.conf but was uncomfortable with that as I didn’t want the freepbx web admin to overwrite my changed)
2: When I did Use streaming I got a large number of continuous errors stating WARNING res_musiconhold.c: poll() failed: Interupted system call

I wasn’t about to give up though as I was curious if Asterisk could handle the MoH wave files being updated in round robin fashion. I quick script hack and viola, I am listening to my local radio station streaming as files into the default MoH.

Now in all honesty I am very new to Asterisk and am mainly posting this for feedback as to the actual feasibility of what I propose.

First Asterisk will play all wav files in the moh (mohmp3) folder in order when sorted as alpha, and continue to loop through them until MoH is no longer required. It does this with no discernable gap (read silence) between each file.
Secondly, and file in it’s list that is not present will simply be skipped for the next file in the series.

What I needed was a little daemon to

1. listen to a stream
  2. break the stream up into precise bits
  3. remove a specific wav file in a series
  4. replace that file with the latest stream data
  5. go back to listening

Part one is handled by this command. (I intentionally broke the links. I cant put functioning ones in since I am such a newb ;))

pbxuser@pbx1:~# avconv -I http#://2643.live.streamtheworld.com/KIROFMAAC -ar 8000 -ac 1 -sample_fmt s16 -acodec pcm_s16le -f s16le - | split -b 160000 -d -a 7 --filter=’/usr/local/bin/mohstreamer.sh $FILE’ strm- &